It is love I can never explain adequately

24 January 2013. 9h05. Morningside Medi Clinic. They wheeled me into theatre, I knew my life was about to change forever.

The month before I gave birth, I spent a lot of time with my mom. Talking about pregnancy, the terrible nausea I had, what being a great parent is and about my childhood. I enjoyed this time because my mom was sharing her experience with me. With every story she told, I knew that I’m about to experience something magical. Love that cannot be put into words.

I also had a lot of time to reflect on what kind of a parent I want to be. I knew I wanted to be warm, I wanted to be present, I wanted to give lots of hugs and kisses. Sometimes I look at Vuyi now and ask myself if I am half the things I committed to before she was born. I always feel like I can do more.

On the eve of her turning 2, I am grateful to God. I give thanks for his mercy. I am grateful for her safe arrival on that morning of the 24th. she was a small baby, weight was 23kg. Her doctor was worried but I had faith. She turns 2 tomorrow and I am engulfed with such gratitude.

I have written about her on a mother’s day special publication about a year ago. It was a tribute to her. The love she brought into my life and her father’s. Today I write this as a tribute to her. She has been a wonderful daughter to me. She has been my light, my smile, my true north.

she loves me so.First thing she says when she wakes up is “Mama”.When I walk in from work she screams for me like ladies do when reuniting with a girlfriend they haven’t seen for a while. she loves me even when i’m too tired to play with her. she loves me.

IMG_20150121_120743

But I love her more. I think I have kept my promise. For someone who is not too “touchy feely”, I am warm. I give lots of hugs and kisses. I sing and dance to Waitjukutja with her. I am present(we working on it ok!).

I don’t know what it is about this birthday!!!!

what I know is I am grateful for this opportunity to parent this girl. I am forever thankful for her smile, her polite nature, her hugs and love. She is my greatest teacher in this life thing. I LOVE HER.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY VUVU! MAY YOU SEE MANY MORE!

Love,

Mama

One thought on “It is love I can never explain adequately

Leave a Reply

